Letters I Will Never Send – 1.

Today you asked me why we’re friends. You were joking of course but it got me thinking. I don’t know if you know that you’re one of my best friends; I hope you do. I’m not really sure when it happened that I became so very glad of you but I truly am. I’m going to try to show that more.

Sometimes when we’re chatting I laugh about how we seem to have nothing in common but yet we get on so well. Secretly, I always hope you’ll correct me and think of something because I don’t like much about myself and I wish one of us could spot something of you in me. You’re tenacious and driven (you’ve got gumption as we’d say if this was 1940s America) but you’ve got a bigger heart than you’d care to admit too. You’re brave and you’re fierce and you’re gentle inside. If I had to pick one word to describe you it would be “honest”, and I value your brilliant honesty every day. You’re far too cool to be my friend but you tolerate my weirdness and treat me like your equal and I appreciate that every day too.

Most of all, I want you to know that I admire you. Admiration is a funny thing, and it almost feels silly to say it, but I’m not sure what other way to express it. I look up to you and I am so proud to call you my friend. I hope one day I’m more like you.

Thank you.

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “Letters I Will Never Send – 1.

  1. This is a great letter! You should send it because I bet your friend would really appreciate hearing this, I know I would.

  2. Chikashi says:

    I wouldn’t send it. I would just continue to be a good friend as long as you feel is desirable.

Leave a Reply

